Ryan Kibby has a most unusual role on the indie websoap The Cavanaughs, in which his character Shea has been deceased since Season 1. Shea is the brother of Maddie and the lover of writer Bryan.  In Season 1, the role was played by Mikey Lamar and Ryan took over the role in Season 2. Shea’s spirit has visited Bryan and Noreen on several occasions. In Season 3, his death will be explored and the reveal will have a devastating effect on the main characters. Now up to bat, it’s Ryan Kibby’s turn at the Cavanaughs Q&A.
 
 
How are you alike or different from the character you play?
 
Similar to me, Shea is genuinely a good-hearted guy although he has unresolved feelings of guilt towards hurting those that he loves and cares about the most.  On set I try to portray his inner struggle of ultimately wanting to do the right thing even when the repercussions challenge his most vulnerable aspects of being.
 
How did you land your part? 
 
Originally I was not signed on for the role of Shea.  Fortunately for me the actor who was cast couldn’t make the shoot dates for whatever reason and I got a call to fill-in from Dan Rhyder (who plays Scott). I immediately came in after watching season 1 and it’s been a great experience ever since.
 
Tell us a memorable moment or a blooper you had on set?
 
In a scene from season 3 Shea is supposed to be found dead by Bryan.  I’m not completely sure why but I couldn’t help myself and I needed to scare Adrian Morales (Bryan) when he came in close. I apologized to all those involved but it was hilarious and I would pay money to see it.  If I was on an island and could only have 3 blooper scenes that would be on the list for sure.
 
What do you think the secret to a good life is ?
 
Finding happiness and knowing the distinction between what is purely happy moments versus true happiness.
 
Would you hang out with your character ?
 
I hang out with Shea all the time, it’s just that nobody else can see him. 😉
 
 
 
 
‘The Cavanaughs’ return Thursday October 6, 2011
 
Catch up on past episodes on YouTube
 
Follow on Facebook
 
Follow on Twitter
