Grant Landry  has played the popular and handsome actor Mark on the indie websoap The Cavanaughs since its internet inception. The character Mark, when not dealing with his interfering step brother Dumas, has been the object of affection from his Cavanaugh co-star Sarah and her best friend Scott. In Season 3, Mark will be forced to make the choice between his blossoming acting career and the chance for a romance. Will he make the right choice? With Season 3 release dates just around the corner, Grant Landry took a moment to take his turn at The Cavanaughs Q&A.

 

How are you alike or different from the character you play?

Mark spends a lot of time in the bars drinking. I think my character was mildly to completely intoxicated for the entirety of season 2. Season 2 would thus be the best example of how I am very much like my character. I’m actually at a bar right now. Kidding. But only because bars don’t have wi-fi like Starbucks yet.

How did you land your part?

Not gonna lie…. alcohol was involved somewhat. I was working my bartending job when Adrian [Morales, series creator] needed to replace an exiting cast member. I over heard this, got him super drunk, and simply called him the next day pretending that he offered me the part. He couldn’t remember one way or the other and just went with it.
 
Tell us a memorable moment or a blooper you had on set?
 
I work super late and we film super early. Many times out in Pomona. Which, if you don’t know, is not exactly local. So I’m not gonna lie… I was typically without sleep during much of filming. I’m sure we had some memorable moments but I can’t for the life of me remember anything. It’s all a red bull induced haze, really. Although if I was going to guess I would probably say anytime Percy Rusty (who plays Dumas) was on set. Because he is bat-sh!t crazy. In a Dreamgirls, showtune-singing, dance-hall kind of way. It’s why we love him. But only after 11am.
 
What do you think the secret to a good life is ?
If I told you it wouldn’t be a secret than everyone would have a good life and we can’t have that, now can we? But If I were going to give you a hint, it would have to do with keeping your life positive. While so much of our lives are out of our control we can make a conscious effort to surround ourselves with good, loving people and try to do as much as we can to promote a healthy, happy space around us. You have no idea how far just stopping, taking a deep breath and SMILING can go in the middle of a long day. Also – tequila.
 
Would you hang out with your character ?
 
I would, although Mark is a bit subdued. While I totally respect his ability to apparently always be at a bar drinking, have you ever noticed how he just seems to be at the bar drinking? I would take that kind of dedication but maybe move it to a bowling alley or a night club and get him to go crazy a bit. Or maybe take him to rehab. Either way, at his core, Mark is a fairly good guy who I would be lucky to call a friend.
 
 
 
‘The Cavanaughs’ return Thursday October 6, 2011
 
Catch up on past episodes on YouTube
 
Follow on Facebook
 
Follow on Twitter
