Kevin Makely plays the hunky hero Justin on the Indie Websoap The Cavanaughs. You can just hear the Bonnie Tyler song “Holding Out For A Hero”. Every show needs one. In Season 1, after Maddie (Cwennen Corral) rejected him so she could mourn the death of her brother Shea, Justin won her heart back and when Maddie first quit, he convinced her to return to The Cavanaughs. In Season 2, a thorn was created when Justin’s ex-lover Hope schemed to have Maddie fired from The Cavanaughs. Justin discovered Hope’s lies and blackmailed Hope (Camille Bennett)  to have Maddie returned. Justin is also the best friend of Charley. Justin has been a rock when Charley (Deborah Estelle Philips) needed him, like when she ran out on her wedding or thought she was pregnant. In Season 3, Justin finds himself wanting to advance in his career while watching over his friends at The Cavanaughs, not realizing that Hope intends to win him back. Or does he? With Season 3 just around the corner – get to know the humorous Kevin Makely as he takes his turn at The Cavanaughs Q&A.

How are you alike or different from your character?
I would have to say, out of all the characters I’ve portrayed, Justin is as close to me as it gets. We share the same values and views on life and love. We both have a strong, paternal need to protect and care for the people we hold dear in our lives.
Justin has become a fun character for me. Basically, I arrive at the set wearing what I would normally wear, as if the scene were real life. And I deliver my lines the way I would normally speak in that situation. It’s funny–the character’s look sort of morphs naturally along with mine because it fits him. If I have a beard or longer hair, it works just fine on Justin, too.
 
How did you land your part?
At the risk of outing our talented creator Adrian Morales as a lush…although maybe I’m too late!? 😉
I was bartending one night and talking with a friend of mine about film and acting when Adrian slyly interrupts in typical “Hollywood producer” stalker-fashion with, “I couldn’t help but overhearing, are you an actor?” I couldn’t resist his sweet innocent face , so I took the bait. Three wonderful seasons (and many late-night bar conversations) later, I’m still here!
 
Tell us a memorable moment or blooper you had on set?
Looking back on the past three seasons, picking just one funny or memorable moment is impossible. The laughter on set is infectious. From the brilliant, witty, dirty backstage quips from the lips of Ginger Snappz to the machine-gun-mouth insane banter of Percy “Dumas”, pronounced DUM-ASS (at least that’s how Justin pronounces it), combined with a whole group of talented funny people, the comedy is endless. We’ve become a strange, dysfunctional, and loving family on camera and off. I also have to throw in the fact that I can get away with anything on the set of the Cavanaughs. My true self definitely comes out. Just look at all the different looks I have! Someone should fire the continuity guy!
  
What do you think the secret to a good life is?
Follow what you love and don’t worry about the rest it will fall into place. Oh and maybe jump in as many mosh pits at as many heavy metal shows as you possibly can.
 
Would you hang out with your character and why?
I am Justin and Justin is me. With that said, HELL NO I wouldn’t hang out with him! Who needs that kind of competition?!

‘The Cavanaughs’ return Thursday October 6, 2011
 
Catch up on past episodes on YouTube
 
Follow on Facebook
 
Follow on Twitter
