Carla Marie is latest person to join the ever growing ensemble of the indie soap The Cavanaughs. Carla plays Charley’s mother Charlotte. Her character has been referenced back to Season 1, when Charley stopped her parents from attending her wedding to Chris. When Charley (Deborah Estelle Philips) came out as a lesbian, Charley’s parents rejected her which only fueled Charley to focus on The Cavanaughs and win their love by proving she can be a working actress. In Season 3, Charley was publicily outted by a blogger as a lesbian, which prompted her parents (out of ignorance) to banish her. In Episode 306, Noreen (Ginger Snappz) summoned Charlotte regarding Charley, and in an interesting reveal, these two share a history. Charlotte knows Noreen’s real name. When the series returns in December, more history between Noreen and Charlotte will be revealed. What about Charley? Will Charlotte be able to accept her daugher as a lesbian, if Charley lives?

Before we get to that, let’s get to know the actress Carla Marie.

How are you alike or different from your character?

I am like the character (Charolette) because I have the propensity to be snobbish, however, I understand that the character (Charolette) has heart and is a warm person.  She and I are alike in that vain.  She (the character) is a people pleaser and wants approval or acceptance from her now husband (Marlon) who is some what controlling.  There is a lot to be said about this character.  I am still developing her. 

 
How did you land your part?

Actors Access/Breakdown Services is where I submitted myself and received an email to audition or read for the director.   YAY! 

 

 

Tell us a memorable moment or blooper you had on set?

UH……..adjusting Noreen boobs…..they were crooked.

  
What do you think the secret to a good life is?

I wish I had the answers to life’s lessons…….I suit up, show up and get prayed up to do what’s in front of me.  I try not to hurt people physically or mentally and be of service any way I can.  I love the saying “Let Go, Let God!” 

 
Would you hang out with your character and why?
Of course, we could learn a lot from one another……LOL

Carla, Welcome to the Cavanaughs!

 

 

 

 

 

(Behind the scenes pic from Ep 308)

 
 
 
 
 
Catch up on past episodes on YouTube
 
Follow on Facebook
 
Follow on Twitter
